board of directors

Carolyn Denard, Founder and Board Chair

Georgia College and State University

Dwight Andrews

Emory University

Frederick Cammerzell

Princeton University

Johnnetta Cole

Smithsonian Institution

Sean Decatur

Kenyon College

Walter Earl Fluker

Boston University

Meredith Gadsby

Oberlin College

Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

Harvard University

Frazier O’Leary

Cardozo High School-Retired

John McCluskey

Indiana University (Retired)

Angelyn Mitchell

Georgetown University

Aoi Mori

Meiji Gakuin University

Evelyn Schreiber

George Washington University

Adrienne Lanier Seward

The Colorado College

Kristine Yohe

Northern Kentucky University

Officers of the society

Dana Williams

Howard University

Furaha Norton

University of Cincinnati
Vice President

Gerri Bates

Bowie State University

Theresa Palmer

Palmer and Associates

Sharon Jessee

University of Wisconsin-LaCross ( Ret.)
Membership Chair

Lynne Simpson

Oklahoma State University-Stillwater
Bibliography Chair

Howard Rambsy

Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville

Craig Stutman

Delaware State University
Bench by the Road Chair

Yvonne Brown

Phoenix/Medina Writers Project
Social Media Chair